Alcohol DUI and DWI Deferment Programs in Louisiana
If you have been pulled over and arrested for a drinking and driving offense in Louisiana there are a few things that you can do to help stay out of jail and hopefully, avoid a life-changing DUI conviction. A DUI or DWI conviction in Louisiana is not something to be taken lightly. It can have serious life-altering consequences far-reaching into many areas of your life. We have helped thousands of people over the years avoid significant jail time, fines, and license revocation periods. Getting help for underlying alcohol addiction will help the courts in determining if you are taking full responsibility for driving under the influence and breaking the law. Call us today and let us help you with your drinking and driving arrest and help you find an alcohol recovery program. Addiction No More ® can not give legal advice however if you are looking for rehabilitation for addiction we can help you find treatment in your area or anywhere in the country. Give us a call today and we can help.
What to do if you have been arrested for drinking and driving
Drinking and driving in Louisiana can be a serious offense and the consequences can have life-changing outcomes. If you have been pulled over, make sure that you know your rights and remain courteous at all times. Being compliant and courteous can have an effect on the outcome of the court’s layout as punishment.
Driving under the influence: Driving under the influence (DUI) Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI). These are the common terms used to describe operating a motorized vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In Louisiana, driving while intoxicated is considered a misdemeanor and is subject to the state’s laws regarding driving while drunk.
DWI/DUI diversion rehabs in Louisiana are very familiar with the court-mandated treatment requirements that the courts have imposed for their Court ordered alcohol rehab centers. Some court-ordered DUI deferment programs will include alcohol evaluations and at the very least, alcohol and drug classes for first-time offenders. This can cost anywhere from $1000-2500 dollars with the fines, not including lawyer fees and bail.
If this is your second offense, getting involved in a treatment program for alcohol abuse will not only help your ongoing DWI-DUI case but benefit you as well. You should always enter into an alcohol treatment program knowing that there is a need for a change before something worse happens. Driving and Drinking can cost you your life or even worse someone else life. Treatment programs in Louisiana for criminal justice clients will work with the court system to handle all the requirements for treatment to be considered time served. Once all the financial consequences are paid by the defendant and community service is completed if any Louisiana district court may terminate the probation period.
Driving under the influence can damage many people’s lives other than yourself. Getting treatment for your alcohol dependency can help you understand that the risks of drinking and driving heavily outweigh the rewards. Sometimes, all it takes is to talk to someone who has had the burden of having someone die due to their alcohol consumption and driving under the influence. Our counselors are ready to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
DUI First-Offender and Diversion ProgramsThe laws are different in each state for DWI offenses that allow for deferment programs in lieu of jail time. Some states, depending on the circumstances, will mandate treatment and community service. Some of these mandates can be handled while in treatment for alcohol abuse. Louisiana has a deferment program for first-time DWI offenders as long as there are no injuries, accidents, or drugs involved.
If you have been arrested for your second DWI/DUI in Louisiana, it is highly recommended that you give us a call to find out your options for a deferment program instead of jail time. This will help with the possible consequences that the courts may impose on you. Drinking and driving can have serious outcomes including vehicular homicide, aggravated assault with a deadly weapon, and other very serious charges. When a minor is involved, there are more serious outcomes that the courts in Louisiana can impose on the offender. If there has been an accident or death due to drinking and driving there will be significant jail time imposed as well as the knowledge that your indulgence cost someone their life.
Find Deferred Prosecution Rehabs Near MeWe can help you locate treatment for addiction in your area or anywhere in the country. To locate aa meetings, group meetings, 12-step programs, inpatient treatment, or outpatient services in your town give us a call. There are many options for drug rehab services in many cities in Louisiana.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana Drug Rehabs
Bossier City, LA. Addiction Treatment
Lafayette, Louisiana Drug & Alcohol Rehabilitation
Lake Charles, Louisiana Substance Abuse Treatment
Monroe, Louisiana 30/90 Day Treatment Centers
New Orleans, La. Inpatient Drug Rehab Programs
Treatment for alcoholism in place of jail time in Louisiana is a very common outcome for those seeking help to end their addictions. All that is needed to start the process is to either fill out the free online assessment form provided below or call us toll-free for a quicker response. Not all information is required for a response from us which usually takes between 24-48 hours. We can help you find the best Drug Rehab Center for alcohol addiction today. Addiction No More ® is an Addiction Treatment Center locator service. For immediate service, please call one of our counselors 24/7.
Please Note: This is not an official Assessment or Evaluation form. This form is not admissible in court or for probation officers and is not accepted by caseworkers. Addiction No More ® is here to help you find treatment for addiction. We can not give any legal advice. If you are looking for a rehab center please fill out this form or call us now.
Disclaimer: This evaluation is not intended to constitute a diagnosis of any disorder. The information provided here cannot substitute for a full evaluation by a health professional which must be done in person. Call us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for help locating a treatment center for addiction. If you have an open DWI case in Louisiana, call us and we can help you locate a deferment program in your county that works with DUI and DWI offenders.
DWI Deferment Treatment Centers
Please fill out this form if you are in need of placement into an addiction treatment program, detox center, or need help locating inpatient drug or alcohol rehab programs in your area. By filling out this form, you are giving consent to having a counselor contact you, by phone or email, to assist with addiction issues. 100% Confidential. NOTE: You can speak immediately with any of our counselors 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by calling 1-800-513-5423
Consequences of driving drunk in Louisiana
Louisiana has specific drinking and driving laws and penalties for people who have been convicted of a DUI/DWI. There are minimum and maximum fines and penalties that are at the discretion of the judge and prosecuting attorney depending on many different factors and circumstances surrounding the case.
First Offense: 1st-time offenders in Louisiana can face a jail sentence of 10 days and up to 6 months, license suspension for 90 days, fines from $300-$1,000 (BAC of .20 could result in 2-year suspension, fines $700-$1,000)
Second Offense: 2nd drinking and driving conviction in Louisiana will result in license suspension for 1 year and 6 months of interlock ignition device monitoring. 2nd time DUI offenders face up to 6 months in jail with a minimum stay of 30 days and $750 to $1000 in fines. (BAC of .20 or greater will result in a suspension of driving privilege for a period of 4 years and a $1000 fine)
Third Offense: 3rd DWI conviction will result in your vehicle being impounded and subject to a public auction sale, your Driver’s license being suspended for 24 months, and a fine of $2000. If the third DWI conviction is within a 10-year period from the previous conviction a prison term is imposed from one to five years (may include hard labor).
List of Louisiana Parishes: Acadia Parish, Allen Parish, Ascension Parish, Assumption Parish, Avoyelles Parish, Beauregard Parish, Bienville Parish, Bossier Parish, Caddo Parish, Calcasieu Parish, Caldwell Parish, Cameron Parish, Catahoula Parish, Claiborne Parish, Concordia Parish, De Soto Parish, East Baton Rouge Parish, East Carroll Parish, East Feliciana Parish, Evangeline Parish, Franklin Parish, Grant Parish, Iberia Parish, Iberville Parish, Jackson Parish, Jefferson Parish, Jefferson Davis Parish, La Salle Parish, Lafayette Parish, Lafourche Parish, Lincoln Parish, Livingston Parish, Madison Parish, Morehouse Parish, Natchitoches Parish, Orleans Parish, Ouachita Parish, Plaquemines Parish, Pointe Coupee Parish, Rapides Parish, Red River Parish, Richland Parish, Sabine Parish, St. Bernard Parish, St. Charles Parish, St. Helena Parish, St. James Parish, St. John The Baptist Parish, St. Landry Parish, St. Martin Parish, St. Mary Parish, St. Tammany Parish, Tangipahoa Parish, Tensas Parish, Terrebonne Parish, Union Parish, Vermilion Parish, Vernon Parish, Washington Parish, Webster Parish, West Baton Rouge Parish, West Carroll Parish, West Feliciana Parish, Winn Parish