If you have been arrested for a DUI or DWI, there are things you can do to stay out of jail.
If you have been pulled over and arrested for a drinking and driving offense in New Mexico there are a few things that you can do to help stay out of jail and hopefully, avoid a life changing DUI conviction. A DUI or DWI conviction in New Mexico is not something to be taken lightly. It can have serious life changing consequences far-reaching into many areas of your life.
What to do if you have been arrested for drinking and driving in New Mexico.
Drinking and driving in New Mexico can be a serious offense and the consequences can have life changing outcomes. If you have been pulled over, make sure that you know your rights and remain courteous at all times. Being compliant and courteous can have an effect on the outcome the courts layout as punishment.
We have helped thousands of people over the years avoid significant jail time, fines, and license revocation periods. Getting help for an underlying alcohol addiction will help the courts in determining if you are taking full responsibility for driving under the influence and breaking the law.
Call us today and let us help you with your drinking and driving arrest and help you find an alcohol recovery program. 1-800-819-9973
Driving under the influence defined: Driving under the influence (DUI) Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI). These are the common terms used to describe operating a motorized vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In New Mexico, driving while intoxicated is considered a misdemeanor and is subject to the state’s laws regarding driving while drunk.
DWI/DUI diversion rehabs in New Mexico are very familiar with the court-mandated treatment requirements that the courts have imposed for their Court ordered alcohol rehab centers. Some court-ordered DUI deferment programs will include alcohol evaluations and at the very least, alcohol and drug classes for first-time offenders. This can cost anywhere from $1000-2500 dollars with the fines not including lawyer fees and bail.
Finding treatment that helps with Court Ordered Alcohol Deferment Programs.
If this is your second offense, getting involved in a treatment program for alcohol abuse will not only help your ongoing DWI-DUI case but benefit you as well. You should always enter into an alcohol treatment program knowing that there is a need for a change before something worse happens. Driving and Drinking can cost you your life or even worse someone else life.
Treatment programs in New Mexico for criminal justice clients will work with the court system to handle all the requirements for treatment to be considered time served. Once all the financial consequences are paid by the defendant and community service completed if any New Mexico district courts may terminate the probation period.
Driving under the influence can damage many people’s lives other than yourself. Getting treatment for your alcohol dependency can help you understand that the risks of drinking and driving heavily outweigh the rewards. Sometimes, all it takes is to talk to someone who has had the burden of having someone die due to their alcohol consumption and driving under the influence.
Our counselors are ready to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 1-800-819-9973
Alcohol DUI and DWI deferment programs, instead of jail time for First DWI offense
The laws are different in each state for DWI offenses that allow for deferment programs in lieu of jail time. Some states, depending on the circumstances, will mandate treatment and community service. Some of these mandates can be handled while in treatment for alcohol abuse. New Mexico has a deferment program for first-time DWI offenders as long as there are no injuries, accidents or drugs involved.
New Mexico has specific drinking and driving laws and penalties for people who have been convicted of a DUI/DWI. There are minimum and maximum fines and penalties that are at the discretion of the judge and prosecuting attorney depending on many different factors and circumstances surrounding the case.
Drinking and driving penalties in New Mexico
First Offense: 1st time drinking and driving infraction in New Mexico and the defendant may be facing up to 90 days in jail, fines up to $500, and a revoked driver’s license for a period of one year. The courts will also order alcohol evaluation and attend a driver’s rehabilitation program that is state recognized.
Second Offense: 2nd drinking and driving conviction in New Mexico and defendants will be facing up to 364 days in jail, a fine up to $1,000, 48 hours of community service. 2nd DUI conviction and the courts will mandate one of the following, inpatient alcohol treatment for 28 days, or a state incarceration treatment program.
Third Offense: 3rd DWI/DUI conviction in New Mexico will have the following consequences. 3rd DUI conviction can be punished by up to one year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and a driving revocation or suspension for 3 years. treatment for alcohol dependence will be court ordered for 28-90 days.
If you have been arrested for your second DWI/DUI in New Mexico, it is highly recommended that you give us a call to find out your options for a deferment program instead of jail time. This will help with the possible consequences that the courts may impose on you.
Drinking and driving can have serious outcomes including vehicular homicide, aggravated assault with a deadly weapon and other very serious charges. When a minor is involved, there are more serious outcomes that the courts in New Mexico can impose on the offender.
If there has been an accident or death due to drinking and driving there will be significant jail time imposed as well as the knowledge that your indulgence cost someone their life.
Treatment for alcoholism in place of jail time in New Mexico is a very common outcome for those seeking help to end their addictions. All that is needed to start the process is to either fill out the free online assessment form provided below or call us toll-free 1-800-819-9973 for a quicker response. Not all information is required for a response from us which usually takes between 24-48 hours.
List if New Mexico Counties: Bernalillo County, Catron County, Chaves County, Cibola County, Colfax County, Curry County, De Baca County, Dona Ana County, Eddy County, Grant County, Guadalupe County, Harding County, Hidalgo County, Lea County, Lincoln County, Los Alamos County, Luna County, McKinley County, Mora County, Otero County, Quay County, Rio Arriba County, Roosevelt County, San Juan County, San Miguel County, Santa Fe County, Sierra County, Socorro County, Taos County, Torrance County, Union County, Valencia County