If you have been arrested for a DUI or DWI, there are things you can do to stay out of jail.
If you have been pulled over and arrested for a drinking and driving offense in Michigan there are a few things that you can do to help stay out of jail and hopefully, avoid a life changing DUI conviction. A DUI or DWI conviction in Michigan is not something to be taken lightly. It can have serious life changing consequences far-reaching into many areas of your life.
What to do if you have been arrested for drinking and driving in Michigan.
Drinking and driving in Michigan can be a serious offense and the consequences can have life changing outcomes. If you have been pulled over, make sure that you know your rights and remain courteous at all times. Being compliant and courteous can have an effect on the outcome the courts layout as punishment.
We have helped thousands of people over the years avoid significant jail time, fines, and license revocation periods. Getting help for an underlying alcohol addiction will help the courts in determining if you are taking full responsibility for driving under the influence and breaking the law.
Call us today and let us help you with your drinking and driving arrest and help you find an alcohol recovery program. 1-800-819-9973
Driving under the influence defined: Driving under the influence (DUI) Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI). These are the common terms used to describe operating a motorized vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In Michigan, driving while intoxicated is considered a misdemeanor and is subject to the state’s laws regarding driving while drunk.
DWI/DUI diversion rehabs in Michigan are very familiar with the court-mandated treatment requirements that the courts have imposed for their Court ordered alcohol rehab centers. Some court-ordered DUI deferment programs will include alcohol evaluations and at the very least, alcohol and drug classes for first-time offenders. This can cost anywhere from $1000-2500 dollars with the fines not including lawyer fees and bail.
Finding treatment that helps with Court Ordered Alcohol Deferment Programs.
If this is your second offense, getting involved in a treatment program for alcohol abuse will not only help your ongoing DWI-DUI case but benefit you as well. You should always enter into an alcohol treatment program knowing that there is a need for a change before something worse happens. Driving and Drinking can cost you your life or even worse someone else life.
Treatment programs in Michigan for criminal justice clients will work with the court system to handle all the requirements for treatment to be considered time served. Once all the financial consequences are paid by the defendant and community service completed if any Michigan district courts may terminate the probation period.
Driving under the influence can damage many people’s lives other than yourself. Getting treatment for your alcohol dependency can help you understand that the risks of drinking and driving heavily outweigh the rewards. Sometimes, all it takes is to talk to someone who has had the burden of having someone die due to their alcohol consumption and driving under the influence.
Our counselors are ready to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 1-800-819-9973
Alcohol DUI and DWI deferment programs, instead of jail time for First DWI offense
The laws are different in each state for DWI offenses that allow for deferment programs in lieu of jail time. Some states, depending on the circumstances, will mandate treatment and community service. Some of these mandates can be handled while in treatment for alcohol abuse. Michigan has a deferment program for first-time DWI offenders as long as there are no injuries, accidents or drugs involved.
Consequences of driving drunk in Michigan
Michigan has specific drinking and driving laws and penalties for people who have been convicted of a DUI/DWI. There are minimum and maximum fines and penalties that are at the discretion of the judge and prosecuting attorney depending on many different factors and circumstances surrounding the case.
Penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol in the state of Michigan.
First Offense: 1st conviction for a DUI/DWI in Michigan penalties can include one or all of the following consequences. Jail time up to 93 days, fines ranging from $100 up to $500 and driving privileges revoked for a period of up to 6 months.
Second Offense: 2nd drinking and driving conviction within 7 years of a previous conviction can result in the following consequences in Michigan. Jail time for 2nd DUI offenders can be up to one year with fines ranging from $200 up to $1000 and driving privileges revoked for 1-5 years. The county may impose community service for a period of 30-90 days.
Third Offense: 3rd operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol conviction will result in 1-5 year revoked license which may or may not be reissued 3rd DUI in Michigan and you could face significant jail time for a period of 1-5 years or 30 days to 1 year in county jail, probation and community service for 60-180 days. Fines can reach $5000 with a minimum fine of $500.
If you have been arrested for your second DWI/DUI in Michigan, it is highly recommended that you give us a call to find out your options for a deferment program instead of jail time. This will help with the possible consequences that the courts may impose on you.
Drinking and driving can have serious outcomes including vehicular homicide, aggravated assault with a deadly weapon and other very serious charges. When a minor is involved, there are more serious outcomes that the courts in Michigan can impose on the offender.
If there has been an accident or death due to drinking and driving there will be significant jail time imposed as well as the knowledge that your indulgence cost someone their life.
Treatment for alcoholism in place of jail time in Michigan is a very common outcome for those seeking help to end their addictions. All that is needed to start the process is to either fill out the free online assessment form provided below or call us toll-free 1-800-819-9973 for a quicker response. Not all information is required for a response from us which usually takes between 24-48 hours.
If you have an open DWI case in Michigan, call us and we can help you locate a deferment program in your county that works with DUI and DWI offenders.
List of Michigan Counties: Alcona County, Alger County, Allegan County, Alpena County, Antrim County, Arenac County, Baraga County, Barry County, Bay County, Benzie County, Berrien County, Branch County, Calhoun County, Cass County, Charlevoix County, Cheboygan County, Chippewa County, Clare County, Clinton County, Crawford County, Delta County, Dickinson County, Eaton County, Emmet County, Genesee County, Gladwin County, Gogebic County, Grand Traverse County, Gratiot County, Hillsdale County, Houghton County, Huron County, Ingham County, Ionia County, Iosco County, Iron County, Isabella County, Jackson County, Kalamazoo County, Kalkaska County, Kent County, Keweenaw County, Lake County, Lapeer County, Leelanau County, Lenawee County, Livingston County, Luce County, Mackinac County, Macomb County, Manistee County, Marquette County, Mason County, Mecosta County, Menominee County, Midland County, Missaukee County, Monroe County, Montcalm County, Montmorency County, Muskegon County, Newaygo County, Oakland County, Oceana County, Ogemaw County, Ontonagon County, Osceola County, Oscoda County, Otsego County, Ottawa County, Presque Isle County, Roscommon County, Saginaw County, St. Clair County, St. Joseph County, Sanilac County, Schoolcraft County, Shiawassee County, Tuscola County, Van Buren County, Washtenaw County, Wayne County, Wexford County