If you have been arrested for a DUI or DWI, there are things you can do to stay out of jail.
If you have been pulled over and arrested for a drinking and driving offense in Rhode Island there are a few things that you can do to help stay out of jail and hopefully, avoid a life changing DUI conviction. A DUI or DWI conviction in Rhode Island is not something to be taken lightly. It can have serious life changing consequences far-reaching into many areas of your life.
What to do if you have been arrested for drinking and driving in Rhode Island.
Drinking and driving in Rhode Island can be a serious offense and the consequences can have life changing outcomes. If you have been pulled over, make sure that you know your rights and remain courteous at all times. Being compliant and courteous can have an effect on the outcome the courts layout as punishment.
We have helped thousands of people over the years avoid significant jail time, fines, and license revocation periods. Getting help for an underlying alcohol addiction will help the courts in determining if you are taking full responsibility for driving under the influence and breaking the law.
Call us today and let us help you with your drinking and driving arrest and help you find an alcohol recovery program. 1-800-819-9973
Driving under the influence defined: Driving under the influence (DUI) Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI). These are the common terms used to describe operating a motorized vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In Rhode Island, driving while intoxicated is considered a misdemeanor and is subject to the state’s laws regarding driving while drunk.
DWI/DUI diversion rehabs in Rhode Island are very familiar with the court-mandated treatment requirements that the courts have imposed for their Court ordered alcohol rehab centers. Some court-ordered DUI deferment programs will include alcohol evaluations and at the very least, alcohol and drug classes for first-time offenders. This can cost anywhere from $1000-2500 dollars with the fines not including lawyer fees and bail.
Finding treatment that helps with Court Ordered Alcohol Deferment Programs.
If this is your second offense, getting involved in a treatment program for alcohol abuse will not only help your ongoing DWI-DUI case but benefit you as well. You should always enter into an alcohol treatment program knowing that there is a need for a change before something worse happens. Driving and Drinking can cost you your life or even worse someone else life.
Treatment programs in Rhode Island for criminal justice clients will work with the court system to handle all the requirements for treatment to be considered time served. Once all the financial consequences are paid by the defendant and community service completed if any Rhode Island district courts may terminate the probation period.
Driving under the influence can damage many people’s lives other than yourself. Getting treatment for your alcohol dependency can help you understand that the risks of drinking and driving heavily outweigh the rewards. Sometimes, all it takes is to talk to someone who has had the burden of having someone die due to their alcohol consumption and driving under the influence.
Our counselors are ready to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 1-800-819-9973
Alcohol DUI and DWI deferment programs, instead of jail time for First DWI offense
The laws are different in each state for DWI offenses that allow for deferment programs in lieu of jail time. Some states, depending on the circumstances, will mandate treatment and community service. Some of these mandates can be handled while in treatment for alcohol abuse. Rhode Island has a deferment program for first-time DWI offenders as long as there are no injuries, accidents or drugs involved.
Rhode Island DUI penalties and punishments
Rhode Island has a progressive sentencing system based on BAC levels from .08 and above BLOOD ALCOHOL LEVELS and the circumstances surrounding the infraction.
First Offense: First-time offenders will be required to pay a fine from $100 up to $500 and undergo an alcohol and substance abuse class with emphasis on drinking and driving. The courts can also mandate treatment for alcohol dependence in the state of Rhode Island. First time DUI offenders in Rhode Island can face up to a year in jail and their license can be revoked for a period of up to 18 months. Driving under the influence within 5 years of a previous conviction can result in a driving suspension for a period of up to 2 years, fines to the courts with a mandatory minimum fine of $400 up to $1000.
Second Offense: Second DWI offenders will face significant jail time up to one year, and driving privileges will be suspended for a period of not less than 1 year and as much as a two-year suspension. The Presiding Judge has the option of the court ordering an interlock ignition device installed on the primary vehicle for up to 2 years after the suspension period is over.
Third Offense: 3rd Conviction for drinking and driving in Rhode Island can lead to the following consequences laid out by the courts. Drivers convicted of drinking and driving for the 3rd time and within the 5 year period of the last DUI will result in the following rulings. Being convicted of a 3rd DUI in Rhode Island and the courts have the option to seize your vehicle and offer it up for public sale. Fines can be as much as $5,000 with a minimum of $400, Significant jail time can be for a period of one to five years. The driving suspension period will be for a period of no less than one year up to 3 years with the courts having the option after the suspension period is over to include monitored driving Interlock ignition device for up to two years. The third driving and drinking conviction in Rhode Island will result in some sort of treatment for alcohol and substance abuse in an inpatient alcohol treatment center in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island has specific drinking and driving laws and penalties for people who have been convicted of a DUI/DWI. There are minimum and maximum fines and penalties that are at the discretion of the judge and prosecuting attorney depending on many different factors and circumstances surrounding the case.
If you have been arrested for your second DWI/DUI in Rhode Island, it is highly recommended that you give us a call to find out your options for a deferment program instead of jail time. This will help with the possible consequences that the courts may impose on you.
Drinking and driving can have serious outcomes including vehicular homicide, aggravated assault with a deadly weapon and other very serious charges. When a minor is involved, there are more serious outcomes that the courts in Rhode Island can impose on the offender.
If there has been an accident or death due to drinking and driving there will be significant jail time imposed as well as the knowledge that your indulgence cost someone their life.
Treatment for alcoholism in place of jail time in Rhode Island is a very common outcome for those seeking help to end their addictions. All that is needed to start the process is to either fill out the free online assessment form provided below or call us toll-free 1-800-819-9973 for a quicker response. Not all information is required for a response from us which usually takes between 24-48 hours.
List of Rhode Island Counties: Bristol County, Kent County, Newport County, Providence County, Washington County