If you have been arrested for a DUI or DWI, there are things you can do to stay out of jail.
If you have been pulled over and arrested for a drinking and driving offense in Missouri there are a few things that you can do to help stay out of jail and hopefully, avoid a life changing DUI conviction. A DUI or DWI conviction in Missouri is not something to be taken lightly. It can have serious life changing consequences far-reaching into many areas of your life.
What to do if you have been arrested for drinking and driving in Missouri.
Drinking and driving in Missouri can be a serious offense and the consequences can have life changing outcomes. If you have been pulled over, make sure that you know your rights and remain courteous at all times. Being compliant and courteous can have an effect on the outcome the courts layout as punishment.
We have helped thousands of people over the years avoid significant jail time, fines, and license revocation periods. Getting help for an underlying alcohol addiction will help the courts in determining if you are taking full responsibility for driving under the influence and breaking the law.
Call us today and let us help you with your drinking and driving arrest and help you find an alcohol recovery program. 1-800-819-9973
Driving under the influence defined: Driving under the influence (DUI) Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI). These are the common terms used to describe operating a motorized vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In Missouri, driving while intoxicated is considered a misdemeanor and is subject to the state’s laws regarding driving while drunk.
DWI/DUI diversion rehabs in Missouri are very familiar with the court-mandated treatment requirements that the courts have imposed for their Court ordered alcohol rehab centers. Some court-ordered DUI deferment programs will include alcohol evaluations and at the very least, alcohol and drug classes for first-time offenders. This can cost anywhere from $1000-2500 dollars with the fines not including lawyer fees and bail.
Finding treatment that helps with Court Ordered Alcohol Deferment Programs.
If this is your second offense, getting involved in a treatment program for alcohol abuse will not only help your ongoing DWI-DUI case but benefit you as well. You should always enter into an alcohol treatment program knowing that there is a need for a change before something worse happens. Driving and Drinking can cost you your life or even worse someone else life.
Treatment programs in Missouri for criminal justice clients will work with the court system to handle all the requirements for treatment to be considered time served. Once all the financial consequences are paid by the defendant and community service completed if any Missouri district courts may terminate the probation period.
Driving under the influence can damage many people’s lives other than yourself. Getting treatment for your alcohol dependency can help you understand that the risks of drinking and driving heavily outweigh the rewards. Sometimes, all it takes is to talk to someone who has had the burden of having someone die due to their alcohol consumption and driving under the influence.
Our counselors are ready to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 1-800-819-9973
Alcohol DUI and DWI deferment programs, instead of jail time for First DWI offense
The laws are different in each state for DWI offenses that allow for deferment programs in lieu of jail time. Some states, depending on the circumstances, will mandate treatment and community service. Some of these mandates can be handled while in treatment for alcohol abuse. Missouri has a deferment program for first-time DWI offenders as long as there are no injuries, accidents or drugs involved.
Consequences of driving drunk in Missouri
Missouri has specific drinking and driving laws and penalties for people who have been convicted of a DUI/DWI. There are minimum and maximum fines and penalties that are at the discretion of the judge and prosecuting attorney depending on many different factors and circumstances surrounding the case.
Possible legal ramifications of drinking and driving in Missouri.
First Offense: 1st Drinking and driving offense in Missouri, if convicted, can have these possible legal consequences. 1st-time offenders can face up to 6 months in jail, fines up to $500 and a possible license suspension for a period of 30 days with monitored and restricted driving for 60 days after the suspension period is completed.
Second Offense: 2nd DUI/DWI within 5 years of the first one can lead to incarceration for up to one year, court fines totaling $1,000 and a suspended license for up to one year.
Third Offense: 3rd Drinking and driving conviction within 5 years of a previous conviction will be deemed a “persistent Offender” facing heavy fines and penalties. The fines for a 3rd drinking and driving conviction in Missouri can be as much as $5000 not including lawyer costs treatment and evaluation costs. A term of up to 4 years in prison can be added to the sentencing as well as a license revocation that may of may not be reinstated depending on circumstances surrounding the case in question, Discretion is left up to the judge.
If you have been arrested for your second DWI/DUI in Missouri, it is highly recommended that you give us a call to find out your options for a deferment program instead of jail time. This will help with the possible consequences that the courts may impose on you.
Drinking and driving can have serious outcomes including vehicular homicide, aggravated assault with a deadly weapon and other very serious charges. When a minor is involved, there are more serious outcomes that the courts in Missouri can impose on the offender.
If there has been an accident or death due to drinking and driving there will be significant jail time imposed as well as the knowledge that your indulgence cost someone their life.
Treatment for alcoholism in place of jail time in Missouri is a very common outcome for those seeking help to end their addictions. All that is needed to start the process is to either fill out the free online assessment form provided below or call us toll-free 1-800-819-9973 for a quicker response. Not all information is required for a response from us which usually takes between 24-48 hours.
If you have an open DWI case in Missouri, call us and we can help you locate a deferment program in your county that works with DUI and DWI offenders.
List of Missouri Counties: Adair County, Andrew County, Atchison County, Audrain County, Barry County, Barton County, Bates County, Benton County, Bollinger County, Boone County, Buchanan County, Butler County, Caldwell County, Callaway County, Camden County, Cape Girardeau County, Carroll County, Carter County, Cass County, Cedar County, Chariton County, Christian County, Clark County, Clay County, Clinton County, Cole County, Cooper County, Crawford County, Dade County, Dallas County, Daviess County, De Kalb County, Dent County, Douglas County, Dunklin County, Franklin County, Gasconade County, Gentry County, Greene County, Grundy County, Harrison County, Henry County, Hickory County, Holt County, Howard County, Howell County, Iron County, Jackson County, Jasper County, Jefferson County, Johnson County, Knox County, Laclede County, Lafayette County, Lawrence County, Lewis County, Lincoln County, Linn County, Livingston County, Macon County, Madison County, Maries County, Marion County, McDonald County, Mercer County, Miller County, Mississippi County, Moniteau County, Monroe County, Montgomery County, Morgan County, New Madrid County, Newton County, Nodaway County, Oregon County, Osage County, Ozark County, Pemiscot County, Perry County, Pettis County, Phelps County, Pike County, Platte County, Polk County, Pulaski County, Putnam County, Ralls County, Randolph County, Ray County, Reynolds County, Ripley County, St. Charles County, St. Clair County, Ste. Genevieve County, St. Francois County, St. Louis County, St. Louis City County, Saline County, Schuyler County, Scotland County, Scott County, Shannon County, Shelby County, Stoddard County, Stone County, Sullivan County, Taney County, Texas County, Vernon County, Warren County, Washington County, Wayne County, Webster County, Worth County, Wright County