If you have been arrested for a DUI or DWI, there are things you can do to stay out of jail.
If you have been pulled over and arrested for a drinking and driving offense in Minnesota there are a few things that you can do to help stay out of jail and hopefully, avoid a life changing DUI conviction. A DUI or DWI conviction in Minnesota is not something to be taken lightly. It can have serious life changing consequences far-reaching into many areas of your life.
What to do if you have been arrested for drinking and driving in Minnesota
Drinking and driving in Minnesota can be a serious offense and the consequences can have life changing outcomes. If you have been pulled over, make sure that you know your rights and remain courteous at all times. Being compliant and courteous can have an effect on the outcome the courts layout as punishment.
We have helped thousands of people over the years avoid significant jail time, fines, and license revocation periods. Getting help for an underlying alcohol addiction will help the courts in determining if you are taking full responsibility for driving under the influence and breaking the law.
Call us today and let us help you with your drinking and driving arrest and help you find an alcohol recovery program. 1-800-819-9973
Driving under the influence defined: Driving under the influence (DUI) Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI). These are the common terms used to describe operating a motorized vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In Minnesota, driving while intoxicated is considered a misdemeanor and is subject to the state’s laws regarding driving while drunk.
DWI/DUI diversion rehabs in Minnesota are very familiar with the court-mandated treatment requirements that the courts have imposed for their Court ordered alcohol rehab centers. Some court-ordered DUI deferment programs will include alcohol evaluations and at the very least, alcohol and drug classes for first-time offenders. This can cost anywhere from $1000-2500 dollars with the fines not including lawyer fees and bail.
Finding treatment that helps with Court Ordered Alcohol Deferment Programs.
If this is your second offense, getting involved in a treatment program for alcohol abuse will not only help your ongoing DWI-DUI case but benefit you as well. You should always enter into an alcohol treatment program knowing that there is a need for a change before something worse happens. Driving and Drinking can cost you your life or even worse someone else life.
Treatment programs in Minnesota for criminal justice clients will work with the court system to handle all the requirements for treatment to be considered time served. Once all the financial consequences are paid by the defendant and community service completed if any Minnesota district courts may terminate the probation period.
Driving under the influence can damage many people’s lives other than yourself. Getting treatment for your alcohol dependency can help you understand that the risks of drinking and driving heavily outweigh the rewards. Sometimes, all it takes is to talk to someone who has had the burden of having someone die due to their alcohol consumption and driving under the influence.
Our counselors are ready to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 1-800-819-9973
Alcohol DUI and DWI deferment programs, instead of jail time for First DWI offense
The laws are different in each state for DWI offenses that allow for deferment programs in lieu of jail time. Some states, depending on the circumstances, will mandate treatment and community service. Some of these mandates can be handled while in treatment for alcohol abuse. Minnesota has a deferment program for first-time DWI offenders as long as there are no injuries, accidents or drugs involved.
Consequences of driving drunk in Minnesota
Minnesota has specific drinking and driving laws and penalties for people who have been convicted of a DUI/DWI. There are minimum and maximum fines and penalties that are at the discretion of the judge and prosecuting attorney depending on many different factors and circumstances surrounding the case.
Drinking and driving penalties in the state of Minnesota
First Offense: 1st conviction for drinking and driving in Minnesota can face up to 90 days incarceration, driving privileges revoked for a period of 30 days up to one year depending on BAC levels and other laws broken at the time of the infraction. Fines for the first drinking and driving infraction can range from $500 up to $3000.
Second Offense: 2nd DWI/DUI in Minnesota within 10 years of a previous conviction and you can face 90 days in jail up to one year, fines ranging from $500 to $3000, and driving privileges revoked for a period no less than 180 days left up to the discretion of the presiding judge.
Third Offense: 3rd Driving under the influence infraction within 10 years of a prior conviction in Minnesota can have the following consequences. Driving privileges revoked and suspended for at least one year and may be referred to the new pilot program for habitual offenders with intensive probation and 6 days in jail. 3rd drinking and driving offense conviction and you could face more than a year in prison with a minimum of 90 days in jail. Fines can be upwards of 3000 dollars for your 3rd DWI conviction.
If you have been arrested for your second DWI/DUI in Minnesota, it is highly recommended that you give us a call to find out your options for a deferment program instead of jail time. This will help with the possible consequences that the courts may impose on you.
Drinking and driving can have serious outcomes including vehicular homicide, aggravated assault with a deadly weapon and other very serious charges. When a minor is involved, there are more serious outcomes that the courts in Minnesota can impose on the offender.
If there has been an accident or death due to drinking and driving there will be significant jail time imposed as well as the knowledge that your indulgence cost someone their life.
Treatment for alcoholism in place of jail time in Minnesota is a very common outcome for those seeking help to end their addictions. All that is needed to start the process is to either fill out the free online assessment form provided below or call us toll-free 1-800-819-9973 for a quicker response. Not all information is required for a response from us which usually takes between 24-48 hours.
If you have an open DWI case in Minnesota, call us and we can help you locate a deferment program in your county that works with DUI and DWI offenders.
List of counties in Minnesota: Aitkin County, Anoka County, Becker County, Beltrami County, Benton County, Big Stone County, Blue Earth County, Brown County, Carlton County, Carver County, Cass County, Chippewa County, Chisago County, Clay County, Clearwater County, Cook County, Cottonwood County, Crow Wing County, Dakota County, Dodge County, Douglas County, Faribault County, Fillmore County, Freeborn County, Goodhue County,Grant County,Hennepin County, Houston County,Hubbard County,Isanti County,Itasca County,Jackson County,Kanabec County,Kandiyohi County,Kittson County,Koochiching County,Lac Qui Parle County,Lake County,Lake Of The Wood County,Le Sueur County,Lincoln County,Lyon County,Mahnomen County,Marshall County,Martin County, McLeod County,Meeker County,Mille Lacs County,Morrison County,Mower County,Murray County,Nicollet County,Nobles County,Norman County,Olmsted County,Otter Tail County,Pennington County,Pine County,Pipestone County,Polk County,Pope County,Ramsey County,Red Lake County,Redwood County, Renville County, Rice County, Rock County, Roseau County, St. Louis County,Scott County,Sherburne County,Sibley County,Stearns County, Steele County,Stevens County,Swift County,Todd County,Traverse County,Wabasha County,Wadena County,Waseca County,Washington County, Watonwan County, Wilkin County, Winona County, Wright County, Yellow Medicine County