If you have been arrested for a DUI or DWI, there are things you can do to stay out of jail.
If you have been pulled over and arrested for a drinking and driving offense in Florida there are a few things that you can do to help stay out of jail and hopefully, avoid a life changing DUI conviction. A DUI or DWI conviction in Florida is not something to be taken lightly. It can have serious life changing consequences far-reaching into many areas of your life.
What to do if you have been arrested for drinking and driving in Florida.
Drinking and driving in Florida can be a serious offense and the consequences can have life changing outcomes. If you have been pulled over, make sure that you know your rights and remain courteous at all times. Being compliant and courteous can have an effect on the outcome the courts layout as punishment.
We have helped thousands of people over the years avoid significant jail time, fines, and license revocation periods. Getting help for an underlying alcohol addiction will help the courts in determining if you are taking full responsibility for driving under the influence and breaking the law.
Call us today and let us help you with your drinking and driving arrest and help you find an alcohol recovery program. 1-800-819-9973
Driving under the influence defined: Driving under the influence (DUI) Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI). These are the common terms used to describe operating a motorized vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In Florida, driving while intoxicated is considered a misdemeanor and is subject to the state’s laws regarding driving while drunk.
DWI/DUI diversion rehabs in Florida are very familiar with the court-mandated treatment requirements that the courts have imposed for their Court ordered alcohol rehab centers. Some court-ordered DUI deferment programs will include alcohol evaluations and at the very least, alcohol and drug classes for first-time offenders. This can cost anywhere from $1000-2500 dollars with the fines not including lawyer fees and bail.
Finding treatment that helps with Court Ordered Alcohol Deferment Programs.
If this is your second offense, getting involved in a treatment program for alcohol abuse will not only help your ongoing DWI-DUI case but benefit you as well. You should always enter into an alcohol treatment program knowing that there is a need for a change before something worse happens. Driving and Drinking can cost you your life or even worse someone else life.
Treatment programs in Florida for criminal justice clients will work with the court system to handle all the requirements for treatment to be considered time served. Once all the financial consequences are paid by the defendant and community service completed if any Florida district courts may terminate the probation period.
Driving under the influence can damage many people’s lives other than yourself. Getting treatment for your alcohol dependency can help you understand that the risks of drinking and driving heavily outweigh the rewards. Sometimes, all it takes is to talk to someone who has had the burden of having someone die due to their alcohol consumption and driving under the influence.
Our counselors are ready to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 1-800-819-9973
Alcohol DUI and DWI deferment programs, instead of jail time for First DWI offense
The laws are different in each state for DWI offenses that allow for deferment programs in lieu of jail time. Some states, depending on the circumstances, will mandate treatment and community service. Some of these mandates can be handled while in treatment for alcohol abuse. Florida has a deferment program for first-time DWI offenders as long as there are no injuries, accidents or drugs involved.
Consequences of driving drunk in Florida
Florida has specific drinking and driving laws and penalties for people who have been convicted of a DUI/DWI. There are minimum and maximum fines and penalties that are at the discretion of the judge and prosecuting attorney depending on many different factors and circumstances surrounding the case.
First Offense: 1st time drinking and driving laws in Florida state that if convicted of a DUI/DWI in Florida you will be facing some of the stiffest penalties in the country. Imprisonment for up to 6 months, fines ranging from $500-$1,000, Probation for up to a year, 50 hours community service, the car will be impounded for a period of 10 days no less and driving privileges revoked for a period of 180 days up to a year.
Second Offense: 2nd DUI/DWI conviction within 5 years of the first offense can have the following consequences fines ranging from $1,000-$2,000, Drivers license suspended for 5 years, imprisonment up to 9 months, Interlock system must be installed on the vehicle for at least 2 years.
Third Offense: 3rd drinking and driving offense imprisonment for up to 5 years fines up to $5000 interlock devices will be placed on all vehicles owned or registered to the offender for a period of no less than 2 years. Suspension of license is at the discretion of the judge up to 5 years.
All convictions in the state of Florida for drinking and driving will require monthly probationary reporting, completion of a substance abuse course which will include a psychological evaluation.
If you have been arrested for your second DWI/DUI in Florida, it is highly recommended that you give us a call to find out your options for a deferment program instead of jail time. This will help with the possible consequences that the courts may impose on you.
Drinking and driving can have serious outcomes including vehicular homicide, aggravated assault with a deadly weapon and other very serious charges. When a minor is involved, there are more serious outcomes that the courts in Florida can impose on the offender.
If there has been an accident or death due to drinking and driving there will be significant jail time imposed as well as the knowledge that your indulgence cost someone their life.
Treatment for alcoholism in place of jail time in Florida is a very common outcome for those seeking help to end their addictions. All that is needed to start the process is to either fill out the free online assessment form provided below or call us toll-free 1-800-819-9973 for a quicker response. Not all information is required for a response from us which usually takes between 24-48 hours.
If you have an open DWI case in Florida, call us and we can help you locate a deferment program in your county that works with DUI and DWI offenders.
Counties in Florida:
Alachua County, Baker County, Bay County, Bradford County, Brevard County, Broward County, Calhoun County, Charlotte County, Citrus County,Clay County, Collier County, Columbia County, DeSoto County, Dixie County, Duval County, Escambia County, Flagler County, Franklin County, Gadsden County, Gilchrist County, Glades County, Gulf County, Hamilton County, Hardee County, Hendry County, Hernando County, Highlands County, Hillsborough County, Holmes County, Indian River County, Jackson County, Jefferson County, Lafayette County, Lake County, Lee County, Leon County, Levy County, Liberty County, Madison County, Madison County, Marion County, Martin County, Miami-Dade County, Monroe County, Nassau County, Okaloosa County, Okeechobee County, Orange County, Osceola County, Palm Beach County, Pasco County, Pinellas County, Polk County, Putnam County, St. Johns County, St. Lucie County, Santa Rosa County, Sarasota County, Seminole County, Sumter County, Suwannee County, Taylor County, Union County, Volusia County, Wakulla County, Walton County, Washington County