If you have been arrested for a DUI or DWI, there are things you can do to stay out of jail.
If you have been pulled over and arrested for a drinking and driving offense in Connecticut there are a few things that you can do to help stay out of jail and hopefully, avoid a life changing DUI conviction. A DUI or DWI conviction in Connecticut is not something to be taken lightly. It can have serious life changing consequences far-reaching into many areas of your life.
What to do if you have been arrested for drinking and driving in Connecticut.
Drinking and driving in Connecticut can be a serious offense and the consequences can have life changing outcomes. If you have been pulled over, make sure that you know your rights and remain courteous at all times. Being compliant and courteous can have an effect on the outcome the courts layout as punishment.
We have helped thousands of people over the years avoid significant jail time, fines, and license revocation periods. Getting help for an underlying alcohol addiction will help the courts in determining if you are taking full responsibility for driving under the influence and breaking the law.
Call us today and let us help you with your drinking and driving arrest and help you find an alcohol recovery program. 1-800-819-9973
Driving under the influence defined: Driving under the influence (DUI) Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI). These are the common terms used to describe operating a motorized vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In Connecticut, driving while intoxicated is considered a misdemeanor and is subject to the state’s laws regarding driving while drunk.
DWI/DUI diversion rehabs in Connecticut are very familiar with the court-mandated treatment requirements that the courts have imposed for their Court ordered alcohol rehab centers. Some court-ordered DUI deferment programs will include alcohol evaluations and at the very least, alcohol and drug classes for first-time offenders. This can cost anywhere from $1000-2500 dollars with the fines not including lawyer fees and bail.
Finding treatment that helps with Court Ordered Alcohol Deferment Programs.
If this is your second offense, getting involved in a treatment program for alcohol abuse will not only help your ongoing DWI-DUI case but benefit you as well. You should always enter into an alcohol treatment program knowing that there is a need for a change before something worse happens. Driving and Drinking can cost you your life or even worse someone else life.
Treatment programs in Connecticut for criminal justice clients will work with the court system to handle all the requirements for treatment to be considered time served. Once all the financial consequences are paid by the defendant and community service completed if any Connecticut district courts may terminate the probation period.
Driving under the influence can damage many people’s lives other than yourself. Getting treatment for your alcohol dependency can help you understand that the risks of drinking and driving heavily outweigh the rewards. Sometimes, all it takes is to talk to someone who has had the burden of having someone die due to their alcohol consumption and driving under the influence.
Our counselors are ready to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 1-800-819-9973
Alcohol DUI and DWI deferment programs, instead of jail time for First DWI offense
The laws are different in each state for DWI offenses that allow for deferment programs in lieu of jail time. Some states, depending on the circumstances, will mandate treatment and community service. Some of these mandates can be handled while in treatment for alcohol abuse. Connecticut has a deferment program for first-time DWI offenders as long as there are no injuries, accidents or drugs involved.
Consequences of driving drunk in Connecticut
Connecticut has specific drinking and driving laws and penalties for people who have been convicted of a DUI/DWI. There are minimum and maximum fines and penalties that are at the discretion of the judge and prosecuting attorney depending on many different factors and circumstances surrounding the case.
First Offense: First time drinking and driving Dui/DWI offenders can face a period of incarceration up to 6 months, program can be suspended at the discretion of the judge for probation and community service for a period of 100 hours, interlock device for up to one year, driving privileges suspended for 45 days, and Fines for the courts can range from $500-$1,00 dollars.
Second Offense: 2nd DUI offense in Connecticut within 10 years of the first offense will be subjected to fines ranging from $1,000 up to $4,000. Second time drinking and driving inConnecticutt can face up to 2 years in prison for a period of 120 days mandatory and 100 hours of community service. The driver’s license is suspended for 3 years or 1 year with 2 years interlock device installed on the primary vehicle.
Third Offense: Third DUI conviction in Connecticut within 10 years of a previous conviction will have serious consequences for the individual. You will be sentenced to a mandatory year and jail up to 3 years incarceration in a state prison and 100 hours of community service. The fines can range from $2,000 up to $8,000 and your driving privileges are revoked permanently.
If you have been arrested for your second DWI/DUI in Connecticut, it is highly recommended that you give us a call to find out your options for a deferment program instead of jail time. This will help with the possible consequences that the courts may impose on you.
Drinking and driving can have serious outcomes including vehicular homicide, aggravated assault with a deadly weapon and other very serious charges. When a minor is involved, there are more serious outcomes that the courts in Connecticut can impose on the offender.
If there has been an accident or death due to drinking and driving there will be significant jail time imposed as well as the knowledge that your indulgence cost someone their life.
Treatment for alcoholism in place of jail time in Connecticut is a very common outcome for those seeking help to end their addictions. All that is needed to start the process is to either fill out the free online assessment form provided below or call us toll-free 1-800-819-9973 for a quicker response. Not all information is required for a response from us which usually takes between 24-48 hours.
If you have an open DWI case in Connecticut, call us and we can help you locate a deferment program in your county that works with DUI and DWI offenders.
List of Connecticut counties:
Fairfield County, Hartford County, Litchfield County, Middlesex County, New Haven County, New London County, Tolland County, Windham County